Bleeding radiators – Stop cold radiators, quickly and easily #energysaving

Bleeding Radiators

After having put up with cold radiators in my bedroom and bathroom for ages, I thought I might try bleeding them. It really helped. I couldn’t believe how much air hissed out of the valve when turned. Put it this way, I had to sit down and wait.

Basically, the hissing air was taking up space in the radiator that the hot water from the central heating boiler should have been taking up.  Meaning?  Meaning my room was not very well radiated with heat and was always very chilly. I had thought it was due to the Thermostatic Radiator Valve – the thing that turns the radiator up and down – being old, hence my lack of action on the bleeding front as I was considering replacing them…

Dress up warm

I’m a minimalist when it comes to heating, donning my thick, hooded, acrylic fleece cardigan a few hours before turning the radiators on to a medium heat. Too hot and I get stifled, lethargic and can’t lift a finger.

The trouble is turning the heating on just before bedtime was useless as the only hot bit of the radiator was the bottom 10mm !

The bleeding radiator link

I googled ‘bleeding radiators’ and I used the top link below.  Instructions are clear and straightforward.

I fashioned my own radiator key from a screwdriver handle that you can put bits into, its joining bit and another joining bit from a multitool that then had the square face pointing outwards.  This fitted my radiators and worked perfectly, just needing a slight turn left to let out the air and right to close when the water breached.

http://www.uswitch.com/energy-saving/guides/how-to-bleed-a-radiator/

Refilling the system

After a successful bleeding, I refilled the system which had lost a heck of a lot of pressure due to the cold air being bled.  I can’t quite believe how bad it was and how my lack of knowledge had let it get so bad – hence this blog (hence all my blogs!).

Testing the newly bled radiators

I’ve just tested the heating and hooray, the radiators are heating up and therefore heating the rooms as they should. All in all that should mean some energy savings through a more efficient heating system.  Hooray!

If you’ve got a cold radiator, I’d suggest doing this now and checking the radiators regularly – at least each cold season.

I can’t tell you how many years ago I should have bled my radiators.

So many cold nights!  Sorry!

Leave a Reply

